Originals vs Remixes- Which do you prefer?

I was listening to the ‘Trending’ station on Apple music the other day and came across a remix of ‘The Mack’ as one of the trending songs!! The remix is from the album Nevada and is quite well made to suit today’s generation’s taste in music- combining EDM sounds with some rap to an age old disco classic. I did enjoy listening to it and then immediately after, went and listened to the original Return of the Mack track and just thought to myself..mm mmm- the original is still way better than the remix 🙂

Similarly, closer to home, in Bollywood, I came across another remix of a song I grew up dancing to- Humma by Remo Fernandez with the music composed by A R Rahman. The original is just amazing, even if you don’t understand the language, you’ll find yourself moving to the music for sure. But again, when I heard the remix, I was a little disappointed. The rap added in the song is sung by one of our famous rap artists, but somehow, I couldn’t find a place for rap in the original song. Also, unlike the remix of ‘The Mack’, the Bollywood track seems to have made quite a lot of changes to the original track. So, even in Bollywood, I prefer the original track to the remix.

Now when I think about it, I’ve noticed that with all the other music that I listen to, it’s always the original that stays with me longer than the remix. What are your view on this? I’ve added links to all the four songs mentioned in my post here, if nothing else, you might as well get into the groove with these amazing songs 🙂

The original- Return of the Mack

 

The Remix from the album Nevada – The Mack

 

The original – Ek ho gaye hum aur Tum from the movie Bombay 

 

The remix – The Humma song from the movie OK Jaanu

 

2 thoughts on “Originals vs Remixes- Which do you prefer?

  1. Joff's Viceroy says:

    I suppose, it just depends on which one actually makes a mark on our musical senses. E.g. I like a few remixes and I hate a few (including this Hamma version). I remember buying a CD (in the good old CD days) just because a remix (used in one of the Coke ads) of an Asha Bhonsle peppy number was even more peppier. In fact, a little more search helped me discover that the composer of the Coke ad. had released two CDs with various Bollywood classics remixed (dutifully named The Bartender) and most of the remixes (not all) were really good and likeable (and have stayed with me, more than the original!).

    The ad is here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKG44qyp1iU

    The original is here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQ8G2aBeKQc

    Like

Leave a Reply

